Late Fall Spiders and Politicians


This morning I walked through the silent dawn of the late fall woods disturbed only by the rustling of the fallen leaves . Dressed in blaze orange to distinguish myself from a stray moose or bear and braced against the cold north wind , that un-slowed by the bare branches was running free across the water.  I made my way through the lightening wood.  As I walked I kept running into spider webs across the trail. In northern Minnesota in mid October there are blessedly few insects, so late fall spiders have little chance of a productive life but like many our elected leaders seem blissfully unaware of the reality of the world around them and the fate that awaits them as they spin their nearly invisible webs of  false hope, destruction and entanglement .

At dawn in the shadows of the woods you rarely see the spider webs coming until they hit you between the eyes. And as the un-caring dogs, who are my companions in the walk through the cold  pre-dawn light, run ahead happily and silently under the webs intent only on where they are going and the next good smell it seems that even with my eyes open and watching intently I hit every web. The nearly invisible strands of organic steel sticking to my face, impeding my progress binding my eyes and taking my mind off things that really matter.

This morning as I walked quietly through the wintering woods distracted by the fall noise of politicians in my brain and final fate of the also unaware late fall spiders a rhyme shaped itself in my mind and wouldn’t go away. A child’s rhyme I know but I have learned as a teacher of children that from the mouths of children often comes the unvarnished truth.

Late fall spiders and politicians spin,
Webs of deceit to pull things in.
Unaware of the cost of frost or sin,
They spin and lie and spin again.

About safrisri

I have been a teacher since 1971 and have taught at all educational levels from pre-school to college. My college degree is general science which I arrived at after 5 years and 5 different majors. A degree as it turns out, almost as valuable and in demand as one in Neo-Bulgarian Mythology. I have been around education for around 40 years and can remember when teaching was a pleasant, happy and creative job and our schools were the same. My writings will reflect on my past mistakes and successes and what my students have taught me about education.
This entry was posted in Nature, politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

