Things Best Left Unsaid in a Classroom


I used to play a lot of racquet ball and used a lot of empty clear plastic racket ball jars to store things in my desk at school. Now at that particular time  we had a little thing going that someone close to me may have started which involved going into a teacher’s room  before or after school and using small dabs of Elmer’s glue. (It used to be Elmer’s Glue All) to glue everything on and in their desk down. As a result of what I am sure was just a misunderstanding I had unfairly suffered some misplaced retribution which involved the super gluing of  all of my racquet ball jars closed, denying me access to my paper clips, pins, staples, erasers, etc.?
I had managed to break all of the lids free after that event, except the one with the paper clips and as I was twisting unsuccessfully on the top an 8th grade class came in…… A big kid, top jock at the middle school was making fun of me so I invited him to try. He strutted up to the front of the room grabbed the jar crushed the flexible plastic jar with his fingers and pulled the lid off making no attempt to unscrew it,  at which time I innocently uttered a phrase that will live with me forever….”Wow! he didn’t screw around with it he just jerked it off.” Have you ever tried to grab words back out of the air while an 8th grade classroom is exploding around you. 5 minutes into the period 15 minutes and eventually all 43 minutes, all I had to do was try to say anything and they would explode into gales of laughter… Little algebra was accomplished that day but along with the words toilet, balls, nuts, gay, boob, and hoe the words jerk and off in the same sentence are now forever banned from my educational lexicon.

About safrisri

I have been a teacher since 1971 and have taught at all educational levels from pre-school to college. My college degree is general science which I arrived at after 5 years and 5 different majors. A degree as it turns out, almost as valuable and in demand as one in Neo-Bulgarian Mythology. I have been around education for around 40 years and can remember when teaching was a pleasant, happy and creative job and our schools were the same. My writings will reflect on my past mistakes and successes and what my students have taught me about education.
This entry was posted in education, humor, teaching, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Things Best Left Unsaid in a Classroom

  1. Anonymous says:

    Now, I see it. You have a pattern of verbal blunder in your teaching career. I saw it with my own eyes when I was your student and this confirms it.

Leave a Reply

