Halloween, Now and Laters, Nursing Homes, and the Gender,Food and Religious Police


Here is a scary but possibly motivational Halloween thought for all teachers and non-teachers alike!

But first a little explanation, “Now and Later”s are scary little fruit flavored candies (predecessor of Starbursts) often used as Halloween treats. Yesterday,  inspired by a cartoon in the paper and in juxtaposition with the deeper meaning of , “Now and Later”s I became aware of a frightening Halloween thought.

The  unmotivated, uncaring and undisciplined students you have in your classroom NOW will be staffing the nursing home you will be in LATER.    

Isn’t that a sweet thought!

I don’t even like Halloween but will continue to celebrate it because it seems to be so upsetting to  so many uptight, overbearing, anal-retentive people on both the right and the left,  including but not limited to the religious police( satanic influences), gender police(dressing up as the opposite sex or offense taken thereby), safety police(razor blades and poison in food which if you research it has happened so infrequently as to be statistically non-significant) and Nutrition police(body image both directions and tasked with making everyone unhappy with what they eat no matter what it is) .   All of  whom seem to want to tell us what and how my children/grandchildren and  I  should think and act.  And finally, should my children or I ever have a fleeting cogent thought or actually accomplish something ,  these groups are ready to step in and explain how we were wrong and how we/I  may  must do it and express it in the future.

I can only conclude because of the attacks it receives from all sides that Halloween has become just one more political football portrayed in the extreme by all sides as having some  deeper powerful dark intrinsic meaning beyond that of kids dressing up one day a year in costumes, having fun,  possibly being a little  afraid, getting over it and at the same time earning themselves(and their parents) some free candy. Not like the good old days of caramel apples and popcorn balls when you would run three blocks dropping costume pieces all the way to the Smith’s house if you heard they were giving either of those items as treats.

Lighten up America and I don’t mean shed some pounds.

If something I have written here offends you I would like to point out in a sort of  pre-emptive strike that I will be offended that you are so easily offended.

About safrisri

I have been a teacher since 1971 and have taught at all educational levels from pre-school to college. My college degree is general science which I arrived at after 5 years and 5 different majors. A degree as it turns out, almost as valuable and in demand as one in Neo-Bulgarian Mythology. I have been around education for around 40 years and can remember when teaching was a pleasant, happy and creative job and our schools were the same. My writings will reflect on my past mistakes and successes and what my students have taught me about education.
This entry was posted in education, humor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

