Pogo, Sex, Gender and Mother Nature


I see in the paper this A.M. another story touting the purported value of creating a gender neutral society. I understand that in its benign form gender neutrality might work towards guaranteeing equal opportunity but I fear that in its virulent form it is a danger to the natural order of our lives.  I began to wonder about this when I read another story recently describing  a set of parents who were giving their child hormone treatments to delay puberty so the child could eventually choose their own gender.  A story  which I will have to admit seriously bothered me because of  its wider implications.

I don’t really care if you are naturally trans-sexual, bi-sexual, homo-sexual or heterosexual or anywhere in between and in reality I don’t need to know. Nor am I interested in arguing the fine points of the difference between the words sex and gender.   All of these gender/sex variations occur not just in people but as a part of the natural order of living things. If you are a human being I only need to know if you are honest, productive and a value to society, your sex and gender and what you do with it is not my business or my concern. But, given that gender does exist I would ask that we always remember that evolution, or God if you prefer(I’m not writing to argue religion and evolution), created and perfected a very successful living organism with two genders and from observation of the world around me all their possible combinations which we often commonly refer to as “us.”

It behooves society to pay attention to the  success of the natural order of things and remember that  even more important than not “messing with Texas  is to “Not Mess With Mother Nature.” History seems to indicate, that every time we do mess with nature, something bad happens.  Some simplistic examples might include building and then rebuilding a city below sea level (New Orleans) smoking anything(marijuana, tobacco or grape leaves – smoking poison ivy is not recommended either) Fire ants, kudzu vines, pythons in the Everglades, Dutch Elm Disease,building/re-building cities on major fault lines or flood zones,  trans-genetically altered plants/animals (eventually something bad or totally unexpected will get loose) and fouling our own nest. This nest fouling problem is rarely found in nature but is something at which we humans seem to be particularly adept.

Gender has existed and continues to exist for a natural reason or it would not either have been created by God or selected by billions of years of evolution. Gender is not something we need to manipulate into some politically correct mediocre colorless neutrality but should be simply recognized and celebrated for its proven value across all of the shades of  the natural spectrum.

Some would argue that the sometime violent destructive laws of nature are being and should be rightfully supplanted by the thoughtful benevolent and kind laws of society to which I would respond see the above paragraph on “messing with mother nature.” In the end I believe that Walt Kelly writing in Pogo absolutely got it right when he wrote, ” We have met the enemy and he is us.”

About safrisri

I was a school teacher until retirement. I have taught at all educational levels from pre-school to college. My college degree is general science which I arrived at after 5 years and 5 different majors. A degree as it turns out, almost as valuable and in demand as one in Neo-Bulgarian Mythology. I have been around education for around 40 years and can remember when teaching was a pleasant, happy and creative job and our schools were the same. Now I'm the guy sitting on the porch with an opinion on everything.
This entry was posted in Nature, politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

