Smart Phone = Dumb People?


I’ll admit that I have a cell phone although I don’t’ like it, actually my family will attest that I don’t like any phones and can in fact sit and watch comfortably a phone ringing without answering it.  I have a cell phone but I use it as a phone not a replacement for common sense and intelligence. Now, using this truly amazing technological device, you can find your car! Do two things at once( each one half as well)! Text the person sitting next to you! Take naked pictures of yourself for the internet! Add two plus two, Figure tips, Remember appointments and so many more thousands of things you either shouldn’t do or your brain used to do for you without your thumbs, buttons, or batteries . The one thing that all of these aps  have in common is that through continuous use they will make parts of your brain vestigial.
I believe that every new cell phone app you place on your phone closes a neural pathway in the brain and opens one between the fingers and the eyes. Each cell phone app is insignificant but the number of aps over the years and generations will be back  brain breaking. I also believe that cell phones/social networking are in some cases damaging our social skills and social consciousness as the pain is so thoughtlessly inflicted and is often miles away even tens of thousands of miles if you included the message’s trip to space and back.
I believe we can all agree that we train muscles to perfection by repetition and that we get better at our jobs through experience (which is largely repetition). With continued use of cell phones the part of the brain in charge of vision and your thumbs will start to grow stronger and more connected while that part which stores memories, logical associations, social awareness and actions will weaken because you don’t need or use them anymore as in sort of an Orwellian/Bradbury type future “ your phone is doing that for you.”
I believe this problem is already visible in full-time celebrity tweeters/facebookers many of whom in the first place may not have had really strong logical reality based neural connections (there is a reason they are actors not doers). I say this because although their heads haven’t visibly shrunk to match their declining brain power it is evident empirically from the sharing of their every puerile vacuous thought that there is, a growing empty space in their skulls inside of which their childishly self-centered marbles noisily and chaotically roll around.
It can be summed up in a simple phrase, “In the future if we are not careful we will have very smart phones for very dumb people

About safrisri

I was a school teacher until retirement. I have taught at all educational levels from pre-school to college. My college degree is general science which I arrived at after 5 years and 5 different majors. A degree as it turns out, almost as valuable and in demand as one in Neo-Bulgarian Mythology. I have been around education for around 40 years and can remember when teaching was a pleasant, happy and creative job and our schools were the same. Now I'm the guy sitting on the porch with an opinion on everything.
This entry was posted in humor, Nature, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Smart Phone = Dumb People?

  1. Mina says:

    Despite being part of the technology age, I have to admit that, though I am impressed with the technological wonders we have nowadays, I don’t enjoy working with new technologies per se, despite the advantages humans can reap from all these machines.

    I also believe that: Cell phones should be used as…well, ordinary phones. The apps and text-messaging, etc. etc. (too many to count) are, in my opinion, a bit annoying actually, especially if you’re in a conversation with someone who interrupts it to read a text message, thereby making you forget the discussion topic afterwards. Or, heaven forbid, texting and driving at the same time–this should be banned!

    I also remember getting onto a college shuttle bus a couple of months ago and looking around (heh…I like to observe my surroundings and people sometimes.). At least 2/3 of these college students were fiddling around on their phones…I can’t blame them really when you have the world in a little machine right in front of you, it’s too tempting to not dive in! I experienced this after I got my cell phone this year, and I’ve been trying to break the habit ever since. The vacation out of the country has helped 🙂 (I’m pretty cheap, so no international calls for me! At least not with a cell phone…can you imagine the bills?!)

    Anyway, I shouldn’t complain, but it would be nice if cell phones and various technologies didn’t dominate our lives so much, you know? I wonder what happened to being able to take the time and just slow down life a bit…just to look around at the world and enjoy living?

  2. HaLin says:

    The paradox of our present day, perfectly enunciated. I cracked up on reading: ‘I believe that every new cell phone app you place on your phone closes a neural pathway in the brain and opens one between the fingers and the eyes’.

  3. thelastgasp1 says:

    I believe the same can be said of many of the truly amazing electronic audio and video technologies available to our youth (and us old guys) today.

Leave a Reply

