Going “Global,” Art Linkletter Revisited


I was  working, apparently from what followed not too effectively, with a bright group of 1st and 2nd grade students in an International Baccalaureate Elementary building on different types of music. I asked the following classification question, “What do Mozart, Verdi, Bach, and Tchaikovsky have in common? Finally calling on a wildly waving hand I got the answer, “Presidents of the United States.” As I sat thinking about how to handle that answer the student sitting next to him nudged him in the side quite earnestly with a gentle elbow and said, “it’s not the Presidents you dummy those are state capitals. As I was choking off my laughter. Trying to figure out what to do about one child calling another one “dummy,” my thinking was being interrupted by the muffled hollow sound of the librarian laughing into the wastepaper basket under her desk.  The final answer was countries in Africa and I was left thinking, I better seriously  revise this lesson and  “so much for global education.”

About safrisri

I have been a teacher since 1971 and have taught at all educational levels from pre-school to college. My college degree is general science which I arrived at after 5 years and 5 different majors. A degree as it turns out, almost as valuable and in demand as one in Neo-Bulgarian Mythology. I have been around education for around 40 years and can remember when teaching was a pleasant, happy and creative job and our schools were the same. My writings will reflect on my past mistakes and successes and what my students have taught me about education.
This entry was posted in education, humor, teaching, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

