Harvey The White Rabbit


Our classrooms have often become almost clinically dead in their lack of living things. When I was a kid almost every elementary classroom had something alive in it other than students. Okay I admit that some of the teachers appeared dead much of the time and I counted rooms with roaches in that survey but still classrooms were more alive for lots of reasons  than they are today.  Are we better off with our sanitized modern classrooms.   I think not. Nothing that moves, nothing to get involved with, nothing to love but those really lovable  reading workbooks.  I know, I know the needs of the one(with allergies) outweigh the needs of the many. Or is it possible kids might still be better off in a classroom with a giant white, litter box trained, rabbit named Harvey running loose in it even if they were mildly allergic. In cases of meaningful allergies I understand the need to accommodate but this is not a zero tolerance situation in all cases.  I for example believe that I am allergic to beginning clarinet lessons but no one moved the lesson room away from me.  If you are old enough Harvey and White Rabbit belong with each other at least they did in the movies and they certainly did in Mrs. S’s kindergarten. When Harvey was in the kindergarten room everyone had a friend of last resort. A friend who didn’t care what you had done, what the teacher was going to do to you  or what you were thinking.  He only wanted his ears scratched, but by doing so gave un-judgemental comfort and relief in return that is often sadly lacking in our test driven modern classrooms

About safrisri

I have been a teacher since 1971 and have taught at all educational levels from pre-school to college. My college degree is general science which I arrived at after 5 years and 5 different majors. A degree as it turns out, almost as valuable and in demand as one in Neo-Bulgarian Mythology. I have been around education for around 40 years and can remember when teaching was a pleasant, happy and creative job and our schools were the same. My writings will reflect on my past mistakes and successes and what my students have taught me about education.
This entry was posted in education, humor, teaching, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Harvey The White Rabbit

  1. “I for example believe that I am allergic to beginning clarinet lessons” Ahahahaha I am allergic to any clarinet lessons… And this is coming from a music teacher and someone with 13 years of experience on the instrument…
    Anyway, I totally agree about the pet situation. I think it is a great idea to bring more life into the classroom for so many reasons. Yes, the animal is another friend to the students, but it also teaches children about responsibility, life lessons, community, support, &c. I would have a furry something running around my classroom in a heartbeat if my school would allow it!!

Leave a Reply

