No Two Snowflakes Are The Same


Because I hated bus duty but liked being outside with the kids I requested full-time recess duty every day most years. Several interesting things happened at recess over the years some funny, some weird, some tragic and some defying description. Here’s one that sort of defies any description.
One day in early winter big lazy snowflakes were falling softly on a warm winter wonderland day. There were so many flakes and with snow on the ground that the sounds of the playground were muffled and it was very peaceful. I was enjoying the kids running and playing in the snow in the relative quiet while as I was doing my appointed rounds wandering around the music building in an endless square dance that allowed me full view of the playground every minute or so.  As I walked  I kept feeling light almost unnoticeable touches on the back of my ski jacket and turned several times to see  that a younger boy was following me around my patrol route. Finally between the shop building and the music building an even  smaller girl, snow in her curly hair, looking quite worried stepped in front of me and  asked, after I paused, quite indignantly as little girls often do,   “Does Brian have permission to lick snowflakes off of the back of your jacket?”  Apparently along with looking different, no two snowflakes taste the same either, or perhaps it was the flavor of my late winter jacket.    In Brian’s defense I remember there is nothing more refreshing and satisfying than successfully catching a freshly falling “white”  snowflake  out of the air on the tip of your tongue.  Perhaps that would be dangerous now due to pollution but I think it would still be worth the risk.

As to Brian and the back of my jacket, the jacket got cleaned eventually and  I hope Brian is happily running a snow cone or ice cream store somewhere and enjoying life every day.

About safrisri

I was a school teacher until retirement. I have taught at all educational levels from pre-school to college. My college degree is general science which I arrived at after 5 years and 5 different majors. A degree as it turns out, almost as valuable and in demand as one in Neo-Bulgarian Mythology. I have been around education for around 40 years and can remember when teaching was a pleasant, happy and creative job and our schools were the same. Now I'm the guy sitting on the porch with an opinion on everything.
This entry was posted in education, humor, teaching, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

