Bribes, Callings, Wrong Numbers


People occasionally send me things that make me think… Thanks to my brother for this one.

An Alabama state senator made headlines this week when he said teacher pay should not be raised out of “biblical principle.”
“Teachers need to make the money that they need to make. There needs to be a balance there,” State Sen. Shadrack McGill said during a prayer breakfast Monday, the Dekalb County Times-Journal reported. “It’s a biblical principle. If you double a teacher’s pay scale, you’ll attract people who aren’t called to teach.”

His comments came in response to a question about a legislative pay hike passed by his predecessors in 2007. According to the Times-Journal, McGill defended the raise — which increased his salary as a part-time legislator 62 percent to $49,500 –by saying that paying lawmakers more makes them less tempted to take bribes.

Under this theory I guess McGill believes that legislative positions are attractive to politicos who are not called to legislate and are amenable to potential  bribery.  While  teachers who are “called” to teach”  would stop teaching to the test for increased pay(a kind of bribe)  if their pay was raised.  At least that’s what I think I  heard.

It is also troubling to me on several levels that our politicos apparently, according to McGill  and my own  observations, are not subject to or guided by the same set of  “biblical principles,” summarized nicely by the 10 Commandments but found in almost all world religions,  that many of the rest of us try to operate under.

In fairness McGill later recanted his statement. but as it was delivered as part of a prayer breakfast. I’m not sure he can and that would be a “God” thing.

About safrisri

I have been a teacher since 1971 and have taught at all educational levels from pre-school to college. My college degree is general science which I arrived at after 5 years and 5 different majors. A degree as it turns out, almost as valuable and in demand as one in Neo-Bulgarian Mythology. I have been around education for around 40 years and can remember when teaching was a pleasant, happy and creative job and our schools were the same. My writings will reflect on my past mistakes and successes and what my students have taught me about education.
This entry was posted in education, humor, politics, teaching, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

