Danger Easter Ahead


Easter is coming soon!

It used to be fairly common for parents to give their children small animals for Easter. The most common gifts were chicks and rabbits probably some misguided Easter Bunny egg fetish. Several times after Easter I found various animals in my room, I would arrive some morning after Easter and they would have mysteriously appeared in my room. Ducklings, chicks and once a complete rabbit set up, cage watering bottle food and all. They usually came anonymously garbed in a cardboard box, sort of like the current legal right to drop your unwanted child off at the nearest hospital.

Over the years no one took responsibility for these surprises. I was able to farm out the ducks and the chickens but the rabbit a small chocolate Dutch remained in my room for years and, was named Fonzy after the Happy Times character. Fonzy finally succumbed fairly quickly to some ailment. The Vet told me that rabbits have two states of health, alive and dead. Subsequent experiences with rabbits tended to prove his statement. One “free” rabbit died after a week in intensive care at the vet clinic. It was not a free rabbit at the end of its life, costing just about twice what my 61 Dodge Polaris sedan cost, and the Dodge had a push button automatic, and really ugly metallic purple paint.

About safrisri

I have been a teacher since 1971 and have taught at all educational levels from pre-school to college. My college degree is general science which I arrived at after 5 years and 5 different majors. A degree as it turns out, almost as valuable and in demand as one in Neo-Bulgarian Mythology. I have been around education for around 40 years and can remember when teaching was a pleasant, happy and creative job and our schools were the same. My writings will reflect on my past mistakes and successes and what my students have taught me about education.
This entry was posted in education, Nature, teaching, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

