Home Cookin


I saw an ad today for a new store that features and sells only “Restaurant Quality” foods. My first thought was “What the Hell has happened I missed another paradigm shift” I seem to remember when restaurants advertised, “Just like home cooking!”

Now in my case home cooking consisted at times of a plate full of seemingly sawdust filled huge tough old yellow lima beans or hot mashed hard-boiled eggs with salt and pepper and butter on them, chipped beef in white gravy on toast( the nefarious SOS), plain old gravy over bread or most often a casserole made of hamburger, macaroni and a can of stewed tomatoes mixed together certainly not Ostrich Rarebit with truffles but it was cheap, I was never hungry,( and that still shows) it tasted good to me and back then it didn’t take 2 gallons of gas to cook dinner. If you really want to cut gasoline use you could close all restaurants on Sunday (it’s been done before)…you would definitely get more cutlets per gallon.

I wonder if this “restaurant quality food” is a symptom of one of the other ills that is affecting our society which can be summarized as “I like it , I want it, I need it but I am unwilling to spend any of “my” time working for it.”

On the other hand I understand that the tastes of most people have advanced beyond scrambled eggs with ketchup on them or fried baloney sandwiches.

About safrisri

I have been a teacher since 1971 and have taught at all educational levels from pre-school to college. My college degree is general science which I arrived at after 5 years and 5 different majors. A degree as it turns out, almost as valuable and in demand as one in Neo-Bulgarian Mythology. I have been around education for around 40 years and can remember when teaching was a pleasant, happy and creative job and our schools were the same. My writings will reflect on my past mistakes and successes and what my students have taught me about education.
This entry was posted in Society, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Home Cookin

  1. Pingback: “Tell me what you eat, and I will tell you what you are” « elladee_words

  2. EllaDee says:

    Topical post for our household. We’re a bit over eating out at restaurants. We live in an area of the city with lots of cafes & restaurants within walking distance we’d love to go to. I’m a normal home cook and sadly the best food we eat generally comes via my efforts, because we have been disappointed, out of pocket or ill too many times. P.S. Your home cooking examples made me hungry. I love all those oldies but goodies, and has crossed over into the topic of a short story & blog post I’m writing, which I will link your post to, if that’s ok.

    • safrisri says:

      Feel free to use link as you wishlll… My brother after reading my post brought up some additional common meals that included baked bean sandwiches, a rice pilafs made with whatever was the previous night,s leftovers and not one of my favorites onion and green pepper sandwiches… my mom being a child of the depression ate and used lots of vegetables where meat is now normally used. We often had beef hash when leftovers were available and my dad was out of town because he said he worked too hard to re-live his youth by eating hash. I remember joyous power trip that came with grinding all the potatoes,onions,carrots and beef with one of the old fashioned meat grinders that hooked over the edge of the “fancy” linoleum covered counter top.

Leave a Reply

