Sleep and Politics


All the political things aside, I got a good night’s sleep last night. about 8.5 hours in the deep silence of the Minnesota woods in the fall.  Nobody within miles, no boats, cars, sirens, no nice but irritatingly punctual AM dogs.    This is compared to the 5.5 hours of sleep I usually get per night  in the city.

Waking up this morning I realized that in  reality it makes everything better no matter who or  where you are.

Try it , it builds tolerance and character better than any speech, philosopher, candidate, federal program , lack thereof,  motivational speaker or self-help book.  This thought occurred to me as I perused the on-line headlines and looked at the raw politics on Facebook, neither of which bothered me this morning.  Had there been a newspaper it would have been okay too but alas  they often don’t deliver newspapers to  the last oak tree on the left and the first news stand seems too far away. 

I was planning on working hard today on some things that absolutely need to be done, things  that I don’t really enjoy doing and strangely after a good nights sleep it all seems doable and worthwhile while as of yesterday I had serious doubts as to my desire or the completion of the set tasks.   

Maybe the mattress ads are right, maybe that’s what America really needs, a good night’s sleep! Cheap, effective, and available it would not require a vote of congress, new taxes, pages of reform or a budget.   It is the perfect solution.  Perhaps the perfect campaign slogan might be , ” A New  Mattress in Every Bedroom.”

About safrisri

I have been a teacher since 1971 and have taught at all educational levels from pre-school to college. My college degree is general science which I arrived at after 5 years and 5 different majors. A degree as it turns out, almost as valuable and in demand as one in Neo-Bulgarian Mythology. I have been around education for around 40 years and can remember when teaching was a pleasant, happy and creative job and our schools were the same. My writings will reflect on my past mistakes and successes and what my students have taught me about education.
This entry was posted in 2012 Elections, humor, Nature, politics, Society, The Future, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

