Is It True That “Fat People Got No Reason To Live?”


Is fat destined to become the next word that is not mentioned in polite company and known only as a letter?  Of course there will be some confusion as another word currently is sometimes called the “F” word.  I have noticed over the past few years that it has become fashionable, acceptable and at times seemingly laudable to disdainfully  impugn and blame people who are overweight for almost everything from as my mother used to say “  mopery to dopery’, from high health costs and high airfares, to being un-feeling leeches sucking the life blood from America.  The truth is simply most fat people don’t want to be fat.  For many people food   is an uncontrollable addiction almost physical in nature in some cases not unlike that to tobacco, alcohol and other drugs but as in the case with drugs very difficult to obtain from in total. More frequently food is like Marijuana, absolutely psychologically addictive.   I find it strange and unsettling that the approbation directed towards overweight individuals comes at a time when we are apparently heading toward making a far more dangerous psychological addiction available in the form of marijuana.

If the pattern of discrimination, as practiced in the US,  holds true, in a few years after support groups have been formed, national associations begin lobbying and the obese learn how to use the ADA in their defense, fat will become the new “F” word or perhaps to avoid that confusion mentioned earlier the “O” word.   Only in modern America could we be moving towards legalizing a psychotropic drug at the same time we are controlling soda sizes and cooking oils. Is it possible that we can’t see or don’t want to see drug addictions as easily as fat.  Or have we as a society, like wolf packs evolved the desire to destroy or at least demonize anything that is not within certain current sociological norms. Look at the nudes of Rubens and you soon realize that skinny was not always “Beautiful.  Is this yet one more attempt to produce a gray society where everything is the same? Are we working towards some view of Aryan perfection where what you look like is more important than what you can do or think? Will the attack on fat result in conformity to conformity?  Or will we in the future accept the idea that being fat is simply a “choice,” Will we believe that fat people have a right to control their own bodies?  It doesn’t appear that we would accept this idea now but then again we didn’t accept “choice” as an acceptable alternative for other situations either when it was first proposed.  Strangely there are many who would argue vehemently for the concept of “choice,” but not when it comes to body shape.

Yeah, I’m fat, so I am probably prejudiced.  It has been an intensely personal battle for me that I have fought for over 55 years now, first starting my war with food in elementary school.  I have learned a lot from this war both about myself and others.  .   I was ill in bed at home for a long period of time in one of my elementary school years. I was forbidden any exercise and it was difficult for me to walk.   I had little to do with my time but sleep, read and eat. Because of that experience my body apparently thinks I have already slept enough, as now I’m lucky to stay asleep for 5 hours.  Back then with, time on my hands, (before video games and I-pads) I learned to love both books and food. As a consequence I am a good reader and unfortunately an even better “eater.”  Because my training started at an early age there are few foods that I can’t eat, big yellow sawdust filled lima beans begin at the top of that list (even with lots of butter).    My weight since childhood has like the song says, has been “up and down and all around.” over the years.  Sometimes I think I’m winning for a while and then discover myself almost paradoxically slowly losing it again by gaining it.

I am aware of the dangers, as are most “fat” people. The dangers that accrue to obesity are not unknown; I wish that you would stop repeating it to the “amply endowed” as if we were a dog in training.

I believe that the subconscious discrimination against “fat” has already taken root in your brain.  If you are willing to take the time to think  you can see this subconscious directive by contrasting how the sound and feel of the words “skinny” or even “anorexic” make you feel and then compare it to the emotional response  and feel of the words ‘ fat’ or “obese.”   One set of words most likely awakened pity or concern while the other disdain and disgust.

Fat people, space aliens and Iranians are the last comedic refuges that have not succumbed to rampant political correctness.  Race, color, height and brainpower, to mention a few, are totally off limits in most polite company and even for comedians but at the same time our comedians, politicians, and media continue to bash fat people and through their words choices apparently consider them to be not only physically damaged and lacking in will power but also mentally inferior to skinny people. Note that most of the people doing this bashing have the money and the time to “eat healthy and exercise at the “gym” with their personal trainer.

New Jersey governor Chris Christie is the current “let’s get the fatty craze.”    By most accounts, Christie is an intelligent and caring human being who is an asset to his state and his country but many can’t seem to get past his weight issues to see that truth. He has a target stuck on his large frame and it seems that the talking heads aren’t going to let us forget it. People with many other addictions and physical infirmities are now often given a free pass, for example nobody seems to be overly concerned of the dangers to our country if President Obama smokes tobacco and contracts cancer (Although I will have to admit that I have never figured out exactly where he goes to smoke, as I believe most federal buildings are “by law, “No Smoking Allowed,” and he lives and works in a federal building. Maybe he is smoking in the limo).  On the other hand we hear that electing Christie would be dangerous for the country because of his overweight condition.  Interestingly to me the interest levels in these two addictions as shown by internet searches show over twice as many results for “Christie + food” as it does for “Obama +cigarettes.”

Gimme a break! Any day now I expect a remake of “http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1NvgLkuEtkA ” with the word “short” replaced with fat.

About safrisri

I was a school teacher until retirement. I have taught at all educational levels from pre-school to college. My college degree is general science which I arrived at after 5 years and 5 different majors. A degree as it turns out, almost as valuable and in demand as one in Neo-Bulgarian Mythology. I have been around education for around 40 years and can remember when teaching was a pleasant, happy and creative job and our schools were the same. Now I'm the guy sitting on the porch with an opinion on everything.
This entry was posted in Bullying, humor, Political Correctness, Society, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

