Winston Churchill on the Modern Condition


I believe I would have liked to have had a conversation with Winston Churchill and here’s why, in his own words.

Bessie Braddock: “Sir, you are drunk.”
Winston Churchill: “Madam you are ugly but in the morning I will be sober”

“From now on, ending a sentence with a preposition is something up with which I will not put.”

“It’s not enough that we do our best; sometimes we have to do what’s required.”

“However beautiful the strategy, you should occasionally look at the results.”

“If we open a quarrel between the past and the present, we shall find that we have lost the future.”

“Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened.”

“The reserve of modern assertions is sometimes pushed to extremes, in which the fear of being contradicted leads the writer to strip himself of almost all sense and meaning.”

“When the eagles are silent, the parrots begin to jabber.”

“Where there is a great deal of free speech there is always a certain amount of foolish speech.”

“So they [the Government] go on in strange paradox, decided only to be undecided, resolved to be irresolute, adamant for drift, solid for fluidity, all-powerful to be impotent.”

“Some see private enterprise as a predatory target to be shot, others as a cow to be milked, but few are those who see it as a sturdy horse pulling the wagon.”

“We contend that for a nation to tax itself into prosperity is like a man standing in a bucket and trying to lift himself up by the handle.”

“ A fanatic is one who can’t change his mind and won’t change the subject.”

Nancy Astor: “Sir, if you were my husband, I would give you poison.”
Churchill: “If I were your husband I would take it.”

“Politics is the ability to foretell what is going to happen tomorrow, next week, next month and next year. And to have the ability afterwards to explain why it didn’t happen.”

About safrisri

I have been a teacher since 1971 and have taught at all educational levels from pre-school to college. My college degree is general science which I arrived at after 5 years and 5 different majors. A degree as it turns out, almost as valuable and in demand as one in Neo-Bulgarian Mythology. I have been around education for around 40 years and can remember when teaching was a pleasant, happy and creative job and our schools were the same. My writings will reflect on my past mistakes and successes and what my students have taught me about education.
This entry was posted in Cable News, Creative Problem Solving, education, humor, Political Correctness, politics, Society, The Future, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

