It’s The School’s fault that My Child Is Tired


I find it interesting that the American Academy of Pediatrics finds that school start times ( have we heard this, it’s the schools fault theme before) are unhealthy without noting that parents used to nag their children to go to bed and strangely when they stopped enforcing a reasonable bedtime found that they had to start nagging them to get out of bed. The schools did not reset the circadian rhythms of these chlldren, the home did! These are the same parents who swig 5 shot espressos themselves on the way to work or down two Monster energy drinks at lunch because they themselves stayed up too late the previous night doing such important things as Facebook, Clash of Clans, late night TV, or socializing in a bar thus providing an important visible role modeling for many students who the next morning walk into, in some cases elementary schools, with a Venti Starbucks or a can of Jolt in their hand complaining about how unfair it is for them to have to be awake. Both the AMAP and the Students themselves failing to note that eventually they will have a job and they will be required to sleep on their own time. It should also be noted that a sleep period has both a beginning and ending time and although you may not be able to control the ending you most certainly can control the beginning to guarantee adequate sleep. Besides I have since childhood regularly awakened between 4 and 5 AM every morning no matter when I go to bed and I find no one suggesting that has harmed my health or that school’s alter their schedule to allow me to take advantage of my peculiar situation.

About safrisri

I have been a teacher since 1971 and have taught at all educational levels from pre-school to college. My college degree is general science which I arrived at after 5 years and 5 different majors. A degree as it turns out, almost as valuable and in demand as one in Neo-Bulgarian Mythology. I have been around education for around 40 years and can remember when teaching was a pleasant, happy and creative job and our schools were the same. My writings will reflect on my past mistakes and successes and what my students have taught me about education.
This entry was posted in education, Education Reform, Society, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s The School’s fault that My Child Is Tired

  1. thelastgasp1 says:

    Another bit of common sense lost in today’s complex society advocating the freedom of the individual and governmental guarantees if individual rights and liberties.

  2. jeanmbaker says:

    Growing up, bedtime was 8:30, up at 6:30 to catch the bus at 7:30. Big deal. It wasn’t all about us back then. 😉

Leave a Reply

