9-11, Where am I Now


Most of us remember where they were when 9-11 happened. I was teaching an 8th grade science class when I noticed a teacher walking by the classroom door obviously distraught. I went to the hall and asked what was going on and she informed me of the first plane. I immediately rigged up a coat hanger antennae for our VCR TV in the classroom and turned it on and we got a fuzzy but watchable picture. As we watched, at first it was pretty much 8th grade noise and stupid typical bravado and joking but slowly the class quieted when the realization came to them that they had just watched thousands die on live TV. Soon the office sent a runner to the teachers, telling us that they were not to mention what was going on to our students, I disobeyed, fear be damned this was history in the making. Later I wrote what Admiral Yamamoto from WW II after Pearl Harbor may have said , “We have awakened a sleeping giant and filled him with a terrible resolve.” and we talked and it became clear that where I was mostly angry the students were mostly scared it was a true life lesson.

Where am I now with little change from the original event in the middle east or our terrorist situation Personally when I now think of 9-11 I most often think of an old JFK quote, ” Forgive your enemies but never forget their names.”

About safrisri

I was a school teacher until retirement. I have taught at all educational levels from pre-school to college. My college degree is general science which I arrived at after 5 years and 5 different majors. A degree as it turns out, almost as valuable and in demand as one in Neo-Bulgarian Mythology. I have been around education for around 40 years and can remember when teaching was a pleasant, happy and creative job and our schools were the same. Now I'm the guy sitting on the porch with an opinion on everything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

