He Was A Ballplayer


yogiOn the passing of Yogi Berra I feel I must pass on his many mantras to the young. I was a catcher for much of my baseball career and he was my baseball and life guru, my philosophical foundation. His wisdom even now affects everything I do and say. I offer up some of his timeless wisdom. In short he was a ball player not a speech writer!

“It ain’t over till it’s over.”
“It’s deja vu all over again.”
“I usually take a two-hour nap from one to four.”
“Never answer an anonymous letter.”
“We made too many wrong mistakes.”
“You can observe a lot by watching.”
“The future ain’t what it used to be.”
“If you don’t know where you are going, you might wind up someplace else.”
“It gets late early out here.”
“If the people don’t want to come out to the ballpark, nobody’s going to stop them.”
“Baseball is 90 percent mental. The other half is physical.”
“Pair up in threes.”
“Nobody goes there anymore. It’s too crowded.”
“A nickel ain’t worth a dime anymore.”
“He hits from both sides of the plate. He’s amphibious.”
“I always thought that record would stand until it was broken.”
“I don’t know (if they were men or women fans running naked across the field). They had bags over their heads.”
“I’m not going to buy my kids an encyclopedia. Let them walk to school like I did.”
“I never said most of the things I said.”
“It ain’t the heat, it’s the humility.”
“I think Little League is wonderful. It keeps the kids out of the house.”
“Take it with a grin of salt.”
“We were overwhelming underdogs.”
“The towels were so thick there I could hardly close my suitcase.”
“You should always go to other people’s funerals, otherwise, they won’t come to yours.”
“When you come to a fork in the road, take it.”

About safrisri

I was a school teacher until retirement. I have taught at all educational levels from pre-school to college. My college degree is general science which I arrived at after 5 years and 5 different majors. A degree as it turns out, almost as valuable and in demand as one in Neo-Bulgarian Mythology. I have been around education for around 40 years and can remember when teaching was a pleasant, happy and creative job and our schools were the same. Now I'm the guy sitting on the porch with an opinion on everything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

